Page 1 of 1

Can I make the FTD less verbose in the logs?

Posted: 19 Nov 2010, 16:41
by Cheeseboy
Hi guys,

When using the FileTransferDaemon to seed torrents, it tends to fill the logs with messages like these:

Code: Select all

Nov 19 22:00:40 b3 ftd: Tracker announce failed: tracker error
Nov 19 22:01:21 b3 ftd: Tracker announce failed: tracker error
Nov 19 22:01:51 b3 ftd: Scrape failed
I think this is because many torrent files have several trackers listed in them, and some of them will always fail, even if the torrent is seeding fine to the trackers that are still alive.

Can I control the verboseness of the ftd with an argument to the process?
Please don't ask me to check in the source code, I will if there are no replies.
I'm hoping for a yes/no type of answer :-)

Cheers!

Re: Can I make the FTD less verbose in the logs?

Posted: 20 Nov 2010, 09:07
by 6feet5
Hi,

I don't know how to changed verboseness on ftd, but if this is for a B3 then a filter rule for rsyslog might be a better solution. Note that this will only work on a B3, as B2 has a different syslog application.

Log on to you bubba and become root. Then create a file /etc/rsyslog.d/ftd.conf containing:

Code: Select all

# Don't log tracker and scrape messages
:msg, contains, "Tracker announce failed" ~
:msg, contains, "Scrape failed" ~
Next restart rsyslogd:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/rsyslog restart
You can do more complex rules if needed, see http://www.rsyslog.com/doc/rsyslog_conf_filter.html

/Johan

Re: Can I make the FTD less verbose in the logs?

Posted: 20 Nov 2010, 09:11
by Cheeseboy
Thanks a lot!

EDIT:
This is brilliant. I can think of half a dozen other things that needs to be filtered as well.
Never thought of this possibility. Again, thanks!

Re: Can I make the FTD less verbose in the logs?

Posted: 23 Nov 2010, 08:14
by tor
And if you wanted to turn down verboseness hos the application you should do the following.

Stop ftd

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/filetransferdaemon stop
Edit the file /etc/ftd/ftdconfig.ini changing the line with loglevel from 5 to 4 which should end up something like

Code: Select all

[general]
downloaddir=downloads
loglevel=4
statedir=/etc/ftd
.
.
Start ftd again

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/filetransferdaemon start
/Tor

Re: Can I make the FTD less verbose in the logs?

Posted: 24 Nov 2010, 12:31
by Cheeseboy
Thanks Tor!