Page 3 of 3

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:31
by force317
So far I did the following :

Downloads the dutch version of wordpress at nl.wordpress.org : version 3.2.1

Unpacked the tar.gz file and moved the unpacked wordpress folder to /var/www

Then I followed the advise of cheeseboy and managed to create a wordpress database.

With what link in the browser can I now acces the word press setup ? This one doens't work :
http://b3.local/wordpress/wp-admin/install.php

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:35
by Cheeseboy
I have never used WordPress, and I doubt I ever will, but I did this in 5 minutes based on the simple instructions on their web page:

Code: Select all

$ mkdir wordpress
$ cd wordpress
$ wget http://wordpress.org/latest.tar.gz
$ gunzip ./latest.tar.gz 
$ tar -xvf ./latest.tar 
$ mv ./wordpress/ /home/web/wordpress
$ cd /home/web
$ sudo chown -R www-data ./wordpress/
$ cd wordpress
$ sudo mv wp-config-sample.php wp-config.php
$ mysql -u 'root'
mysql> create database wp;
mysql> exit
Then I edited /home/web/wordpress/wp-config.php and change these settings:

Code: Select all

define('DB_NAME', 'wp');
/** MySQL database username */
define('DB_USER', 'root');
/** MySQL database password */
define('DB_PASSWORD', '');
It works.
It is probably not very safe using the root user with no password, but you can set that up differently.

EDIT:
Again, as so often happens, I was busy writing my post while you posted yours.
Put the files under /home/web/wordpress and change the ownership as indicated above, and you should be able to acces it under http://b3/wordpress

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:43
by force317
Used info on Ubuntu Server install link - see previous post - and your info to install and configure everything.

Just one problem left I think : the hostname in the wp-config file of wordpress : don't think that will be localhost.

I tried with 'b3.local' but that didn't work.

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:46
by Cheeseboy
Crap, I have already removed it so I cannot look into it without installing the thing again.
I guess Ubi or some other experienced WP user can help you with that :-)

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:49
by force317
Also tried your b3/wordpress proposal, cheeseboy. Didn't work.

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:55
by Cheeseboy
So you copied the files to /home/web/wordpress and then changed the ownerships of all the files in all subdirectories to www-data?
What errors do you get in the apache2 logs?

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:55
by force317
Replacing B3 with ipadress B3 in network : no result either.

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:57
by force317
No, cheeseboy, just copied the wordpress folder from home/username to var/www where it should be i think ?

That's all. Should I restart apache to make everything work after moving this folder ?

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 09:58
by Cheeseboy
Eh, all I know is that the steps I outlined above worked.

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 10:56
by force317
Moved the wordpress folder to /home/web like you did cheeseboy, used the chown command like you did, but without sudo, sudo doesn't word, started with su to get root login.

I put the root password at empty like you did, and hostname back to localhost.

Thus far, no wordpress ... .

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 11:09
by Cheeseboy
OK, It sounds to me that you should perhaps revert all previous actions and start from scratch.
If you don't want to do that, please do this as root:

Code: Select all

# tail -f /var/log/apache2/error.log
Then try to access WP and give us the result.

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 11:27
by force317
Just did what you suggested before reading your post, cheeseboy.

Removed the wordpress database with drop database wordpress command
Then removed wordpress folder with rm -r wordpress command in home/web folder

Will try again tomorrow morning or maybe this evening from scratch as you suggested ... .

Thank for the help, cheeseboy ! :D

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 12:37
by Cheeseboy
Hi force317,
Will try again tomorrow morning or maybe this evening from scratch as you suggested ...
Please take the extra minutes to document exactly what you do (as easy as copy/paste into notepad) in order to make it easier for others to try to help you if it goes pear-shaped...

Cheers,

Cheeseboy

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 18:03
by NisseJ
Cheezeboy, i tried to install wordpress as you wrote and it worked like a dream, so now my wife can have an own World of Warcraft guildpage there. Thanks :)

Re: Wordpress too 'heavy' for B3 ?

Posted: 21 Aug 2011, 02:39
by force317
Ok, this is what i did to install wordpress on the B3 :

1/ Downloaded the latest dutch version from http://nl.wordpress.org/ to my netbook (running Linux Mint 11) : the .tar.gz version

2/ Make network connection to the B3 and transfer the .tar.gz file to the /home/web folder on the B3

3/ Open terminalwindow, connect to b3 with ssh b3.local command and enter
active userpassword, then type su command and enter b3 password mentioned in the manual to get root access.

4/ cd /home/web where the .tar.gz file already is.

5/ enter command tar -xzvf wordpress-3.2.1-nl_NL.tar.gz

6/ now the wordpress folder is in place

7/ chown -R www-data ./wordpress/

8/ cd wordpress

9/ mv wp-config-sample.php wp-config.php

10/ mysql -u 'root'

11/ create database wp;

12/ exit

13/ nano wp-config.php

14/ In wp-config.php I changed these settings:

define('DB_NAME', 'wp');
/** MySQL database username */
define('DB_USER', 'root');
/** MySQL database password */
define('DB_PASSWORD', '');

15/ The link to the website in the browser should be :
http://b3.local/wordpress since i use Linux. I believe on the MAC the link will be the same, on a Microsoft OS it will we http://b3/wordpress

The first time you enter this link in the browser you get the admin page :
http://b3.local/wordpress/wp-admin/install.php

Don't worry, you can always change the info entered here later, then click install button and that's it, the wordpress website is installed.

Thanks to all for their help, especially cheeseboy ! :D

And that's it ! Follow this procedure, and you get a working wordpress website,
at least as a local one, making it public, that is viewable to the internet, is
another matter I think, needing some settings in your router ? :!: :?: