Page 2 of 2
Posted: 04 Jan 2008, 15:23
by 6feet5
Hi,
I'm guessing you're talking about the top row when displaying a download. Unfortunately the number of fonts are a bit limited. There are however two fonts that probably will show a little bit more, FIXED_8 and ZURICH_LITE_16. You could try one of them, though I think FIXED_8 is a bit to small and will look weird.
Log on as root and open
/usr/bin/bubbamon in nano (or what ever text editor you use on bubba). Locate the subroutine
show_download() a bit down. Locate four last lines in this subroutine:
Code: Select all
$sb->set_font( font => SANS_SERIF_16 );
# Filename (strip leading spaces)
$name =~ s/^[[:space:]]+//g;
$sb->text( x => 0, y => 0, text => $name);
Change SANS_SERIF_16 to one of the mentioned above and test again.
Anyway, if the filename is too long, it will still go outside the screen. Maybe I can add some kind of scrolling the file name here. Hmmm....I need to look this up. Maybe in the next version
/Johan
PS I've noticed my display is wider than what is specified in the manual (40 pixels wider). Also, the box have a "Limited introductory edition" sticker on it, mentioning a "High resolution display".
Posted: 05 Jan 2008, 06:58
by marcel23
it's probably your display, because the fonts were already FIXED_* (didn't look bad).. I will try to make a picture of my display..
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 14:42
by e96pj
I can't seem to get it up and running...
The bubbamon seems to be running, but it will not connect to my SoundBridge. I have entered the correct IP. I used the default port since I have no clue how to obtain this information from my SoundBridge.
Pressing "the house" key three times does absolutley nothing
Any ideas, I really would like to have this functionality...
Oh, the error message in bubbamon is ""Couldn't connect to Soundbridge. at /usr/bin/bubbamon line 102." btw...
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:05
by 6feet5
Something is wrong with the connection to the Soundbridge so the remote control has no effect since bubbamon need to be connected to the Soundbridge in order to read what keys you press.
Could you show me what your /etc/default/bubbamon look like.
/Johan
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:15
by e96pj
That was quick, nice
Shure, here it is...
# Settings for bubbamon
# The following settings control what address and port to connect to when
# controlling the Roku/Pinnacle SoundBridge
SOUNDBRIDGE_ADDR="192.168.1.101"
SOUNDBRIDGE_PORT="4444"
# The following settings control what address and port to connect to when
# getting harddisk temperature. Note that hddtemp must be run as daemon.
HDDTEMP_ADDR="127.0.0.1"
HDDTEMP_PORT="7634"
# This controls whether information will show at any time or only when the
# SoundBridge is in standby mode.
ONLY_WHEN_IDLE="true"
# How many seconds should each screen be displayed before continuing with the
# next screen.
SHOW_TIMEOUT="5"
# How many seconds should each screen be displayed after a key has been pressed
# before continuing with next screen.
KEY_TIMEOUT="30"
# How many seconds between each run.
INTERVAL="1"
# What user should we display downloads for.
USERS="XYXYX"
# What mode should we run in (Cron | Daemon | Manual)
MODE="Daemon"
Tried to run in in manual as well...
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:18
by 6feet5
If you ping that address (192.168.1.101), do you get an answer?
And also, could you try and connect to this address manually, using telnet, and see if you can get any response from your Soundbridge.
/Johan
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:22
by e96pj
Hmm, no answer on ping or telnet...
If I enter 192.168.0.101 in my webbrowser I get the SoundBridge web interface...
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:28
by 6feet5
Was that a typo? You just entered a different IP address.
/Johan
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:28
by e96pj
Jupp, typo. Of course 192.168.0.101... Sorry
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:32
by e96pj
And I just realized that I had done that typo in the config of bubbamon as well... Sorry!

But thank you for all your help!
Posted: 06 Feb 2008, 15:49
by 6feet5
Ok, so it's working now, that's good.
Hopefully I will have time to release a small bug fix sometime soon. Downloads that aren't torrents display wrong information (transfer speed is not parsed correctly).
/Johan
Posted: 09 Feb 2008, 17:03
by 6feet5
Hi,
I've made a new version (v0.7) that is available for download at my new homepage (
http://thevoid.webhop.info/bubba/soundbridge).
Not much have changed from previous version. Downloads other than torrents should now display correctly. I've also removed the clear text progress indication to the right of the progress bar. Instead, it will show the size of the file being downloaded.
Enjoy,
/Johan