New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !
How do I change user permissions in telnet?
How do I change user permissions in telnet?
OK. That is about the question.
I want to create a user account that has permissions to a certain file folder only, and not for example to the music, pictures and movies folder.
At the moment when I try to change the permissions for those folders in the web GUI, I only get "changing permissions failed" or something like that as a result.
So how do I change the permissions to those folders using telnet?
As a sidenote I could say that I have only two accounts in my B3 at the moment. An "administrator" and one user account with SSH. I do not have an owner account, since I do not know how to create one.
Maybe I could change the permissions in the web GUI as an "owner"???
I want to create a user account that has permissions to a certain file folder only, and not for example to the music, pictures and movies folder.
At the moment when I try to change the permissions for those folders in the web GUI, I only get "changing permissions failed" or something like that as a result.
So how do I change the permissions to those folders using telnet?
As a sidenote I could say that I have only two accounts in my B3 at the moment. An "administrator" and one user account with SSH. I do not have an owner account, since I do not know how to create one.
Maybe I could change the permissions in the web GUI as an "owner"???
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
Hi again,
You will not be able to connect to your B3 via telnet unless you have installed a telnet daemon.
You will have to use ssh.
Regarding changing the permissions, look into chmod, either by doing:
or probably more helpful:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chmod
But why don't you ask the obvious question?
Why does the web interface fail? It doesn't for me...
Best regards,
Cheeseboy
You will not be able to connect to your B3 via telnet unless you have installed a telnet daemon.
You will have to use ssh.
Regarding changing the permissions, look into chmod, either by doing:
Code: Select all
man chmod
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chmod
But why don't you ask the obvious question?
Why does the web interface fail? It doesn't for me...
Best regards,
Cheeseboy
-
- Posts: 904
- Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
When connecting via SSH (not TELNET) these are the commands you want (run as root by doing
Creates a new user but you're best off doing that via the web interface (using the admin account).
Would change permissions on a file to be exclusively accessible by that one user.
If doing it for a directory you'd need this:
the -R applies the settings to all subdirectories and files.
The reason you're getting the permissions error in the web interface is probably because you're using your normal user account and you don't have the permissions. Have you tried with the admin account?
If you want a new user to not have permissions to access your /home/storage/pictures or whatever you'd need to make sure said user isn't in the "users" group as those directories are owned by that group.
To do that you need to do this:
This will make the user a member of their own group only.
Code: Select all
su
[root password]
Code: Select all
adduser
Code: Select all
chown user:user filename
If doing it for a directory you'd need this:
Code: Select all
chown -R user:user dirname
The reason you're getting the permissions error in the web interface is probably because you're using your normal user account and you don't have the permissions. Have you tried with the admin account?
If you want a new user to not have permissions to access your /home/storage/pictures or whatever you'd need to make sure said user isn't in the "users" group as those directories are owned by that group.
To do that you need to do this:
Code: Select all
usermod -G user user
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
OK. I will give that a try. At the moment I'm at an other location, so we will see later.
I get the same error message regarding the permissions when logged in as an admin, so that is why I was asking other methods.
Why I can't change the permissions as an admin... No clue...
Is there a way to give the admin account more rights some way?
I get the same error message regarding the permissions when logged in as an admin, so that is why I was asking other methods.
Why I can't change the permissions as an admin... No clue...
Is there a way to give the admin account more rights some way?
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
I really think you should concentrate on trying to find out what the problem is, rather than trying to work around it.
As root:
Then try to change the permissions using the web interface, get the error, and let us know what goes into the syslog.
Best regards,
Cheeseboy
As root:
Code: Select all
tail -f /var/log/syslog
Best regards,
Cheeseboy
-
- Posts: 904
- Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
Also, what's the output of and
Code: Select all
ls -l /home/
Code: Select all
ls -l /home/storage/
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
OK. Syslog a couple of minutes before and after I tried to cange the permissions:
May 2 13:45:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17404]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/bin/php && /usr/bin/php /usr/share/horde3/scripts/alarms.php)
May 2 13:47:52 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Starting up
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Server timed out, terminating
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Daemon terminating
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Shutting down
May 2 13:50:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17470]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/lib/web-admin/notify-dispatcher.pl && /usr/lib/web-admin/notify-dispatcher.pl)
May 2 13:50:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17471]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/bin/php && /usr/bin/php /usr/share/horde3/scripts/alarms.php)
May 2 13:52:29 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Rescanning database
May 2 13:52:30 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Starting playlist scan
May 2 13:52:30 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Updating playlists
May 2 13:52:31 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Scanned 795 songs (was 795) in 2 seconds
May 2 13:52:32 NH-Server hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:18
97:03:57 WPA: group key handshake completed (RSN)
ls -l /home/ and ls -l /home/storage/ give out absolutely nothing?
By the way when I check my admin rights with WinSCP it's 0755, the same as my user rights...
Should I change that, and if so, how?
May 2 13:45:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17404]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/bin/php && /usr/bin/php /usr/share/horde3/scripts/alarms.php)
May 2 13:47:52 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Starting up
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Server timed out, terminating
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Daemon terminating
May 2 13:48:53 NH-Server bubba-networkmanager: Shutting down
May 2 13:50:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17470]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/lib/web-admin/notify-dispatcher.pl && /usr/lib/web-admin/notify-dispatcher.pl)
May 2 13:50:01 NH-Server /USR/SBIN/CRON[17471]: (root) CMD (test -x /usr/bin/php && /usr/bin/php /usr/share/horde3/scripts/alarms.php)
May 2 13:52:29 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Rescanning database
May 2 13:52:30 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Starting playlist scan
May 2 13:52:30 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Updating playlists
May 2 13:52:31 NH-Server mt-daapd[1348]: Scanned 795 songs (was 795) in 2 seconds
May 2 13:52:32 NH-Server hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:18
ls -l /home/ and ls -l /home/storage/ give out absolutely nothing?
By the way when I check my admin rights with WinSCP it's 0755, the same as my user rights...
Should I change that, and if so, how?
-
- Posts: 904
- Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
That's...unexpected. This s definitely while you've ssh'd into your Bubba?ls -l /home/ and ls -l /home/storage/ give out absolutely nothing?
Re: How do I change user permissions in telnet?
Yeah. So it is.
I made a new user called "visitor" then I made a new group called "visitor". I can not see the new group in the web GUI, but I suppose that is normal?
Then I gave the command: "usermod -G visitor visitor".
User "visitor" is still in group "users" since he still has all access to all files/folders.
How do I change that?
I made a new user called "visitor" then I made a new group called "visitor". I can not see the new group in the web GUI, but I suppose that is normal?
Then I gave the command: "usermod -G visitor visitor".
User "visitor" is still in group "users" since he still has all access to all files/folders.
How do I change that?